Wednesday, January 6, 2010

Bora named Rolex YotY

From Scuttlebutt:

Rolex Yachtsman of the Year - Bora Gulari (Detroit, Mich.)
Gulari earned the coveted award with his very first appearance on the shortlist of nominees. Gulari had tough competition for the honor: all but one of the 10 male nominees, Gulari included, had won a world championship title. Ultimately, 10 of the 14 panel members gave Gulari their first-place vote, acknowledging his growth from square one in the Moth class two years ago to winner of the CST Composites International Moth World Championship in 2009 as nothing short of remarkable.

"I just do this because I love it, and I think this year was the start of great things to come for dinghy sailing in the U.S.," said Gulari. "With the addition of the foils, the Moths became easier to sail and a lot more rewarding. . . generating a level of excitement for sailing in some of the top sailors in the country that I have not seen before. I don't think it will take people away from traditional dinghy classes, but the Moth is so fun that it's attracting people that have never had any interest in dinghies, and its bringing people back to dinghies who thought they were
done getting wet."

Anna Tunnicliffe was named this year's female winner. Mothies seem to have the little bit extra that gets 'em to the top. Anna has spent a good bit of time on moths with Brad Funk her husband. Jeff Linton, the RYotY winner in 2008, is a designer, builder and consistent winner in the Classic Moth fleet, taking the Nationals title multiple times.

No comments: